One step at a time…

After a long “blog break” I’m back. This will be brief, fitting of the subject.

I tend to have high expectations of myself, and can get caught up and overwhelmed with projects. I sometimes run the possible scenarios through my mind in endless loops.

The affirmation of “one step at a time”, often on a note card on my car dashboard, helps me to keep things in perspective. No matter how big the project, or how complex, all you can do is take this step. This affirmation of “one step at a time” helps focus me and keep my mind from spinning into overwhelm. It helps me be at peace more than any other technique I’ve found.

So, if you’re like me, and have a tendency to feel anxiety due to overwhelm, write “one step at a time” and put it somewhere you will see it at least once a day. Read it aloud daily and see how it works for you.

Hope this helps, all the best to you.

Dan O’

6 Responses to “One step at a time…”

  1. kristi Says:

    very good. i try to practice that in my life as well but lately it has been a losing battle.

    • Dan O'Donnell Says:

      Hi Kristi, do you get time to relax, excercise, get outside? That can be a huge help too. Or things like gardening, art, woodwork, they help many people focus on what they’re doing and forget about their to-do list. Wishing you the best, Merry Christmas Kristi

  2. kristi Says:

    i am a stay home girl on disability so rest is all i have. but i am going through a divorce after 14 yrs of being together so i think that is what is playing a big part in my depression. i try to get out and do things but it’s like i have no strength left or hope in site. i just keep telling myself that this too shall pass!
    Merry Christmas to you as well

  3. Jeannette Clark Says:

    Hey Dan,

    I will definitely try and practice this. I started school last week and getting overwhelmed. “One at a Time” is definitely what I need to do. Back to Prioritizing and Time Management.

    Jeannette

    • Dan O'Donnell Says:

      Good Jeannette, I hope that helps 🙂 Also, it might be good to practice the “art of saying no” to other things that clog up your schedule. If you’ve taken on a lot of school, it might be good to balance that by scaling back other things, so you don’t drive yourself crazy 🙂 I’ve had to do that at times, and it always felt great! All the best Jeannette, good to hear from you.

      Dan O’

Leave a comment